uae pedia logo
Kerala University official site
Kerala University official site The University of Travancore which eventually became the University of Kerala was established in 1937 by a promulgation of the Maharaja of Travancore, Sri Chithira Thirunal Balarama Varma who was also the first Chancellor of the University. Sir C. P Ramaswamy Ayyar, the then Diwan of the State, was the first Vice-Chancellor. It was the sixteenth University to be set up in India and ten Colleges within the State of Travancore which were affiliated to the Madras University became the affiliated colleges of the University of Travancore.

In 1957, the Kerala University Act, Act 14 of 1957, was brought into force and the University of Travancore was renamed University of Kerala. The University had three campuses located in three different parts of the State viz. Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam and Kozhikode. In 1968, the University Centre at Kozhikode became a full -fledged University covering the Colleges and Departments located in Thrissur, Palakkad, Kozhikode and Kannur Districts of Kerala. The Cochin University of Science and Technology and the Kerala Agricultural University were set up in 1971 and in 1983, the Mahatma Gandhi University was established. With the establishment of these Universities, the area of the jurisdiction of the University of Kerala has been limited to Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Alappuzha Districts and some parts of Pathanamthitta District.

At present, the University has sixteen faculties and 41 departments of teaching and research. There are 157 affiliated colleges. Of these, 46 are aided Arts and Science colleges and 14 are unaided . There are two Law colleges, 17 Engineering colleges (of which 14 are unaided), four Medical Colleges (two are self financing) seven aided Teachersí Training colleges, 30 unaided Teacher Training Colleges, four Ayurveda colleges, two Homeopathy colleges, one Sidha Medical College, two Fine Arts Colleges, one Music College, three Dental colleges (of which two are unaided), four unaided Pharmacy colleges and one college of Physical Education. Besides these, there are four affiliated institutions conducting two year full time MBA course, five colleges offering MCA and ten Nursing colleges, all in the unaided sector. The Universityís Engineering College in Kariavattom campus offers courses like Information Technology, Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication etc...The University Departments offer a wide range of teaching and research at post-graduate, M.Phil. and Ph.D. levels. The courses in the Departments are conducted in the Credit and Semester System . The University has also extended the Semester System to all the Post Graduate courses from 2001. At present, about 32 colleges offer post graduate teaching programmes. Some of the affiliated colleges offer , more read at
Education Dec 14, 2006

Average Visitor Rating: 0.00 (out of 5)
Number of ratings: 0 Votes

Visitor Rating

Other Kerala Education websites
The boom in the animation industry creates unlimited job opportunities for youngsters with right talent and ability to meet the industrial standards. Itís the ability to meet the high professional standards that makes a fresher the hottest for the industry. So the need of the time is develop the skills and the attitude for, whatever your aim is.

Itís not just the knowledge of the technology but the creativity that is searched by most of the employers. So at ICQ we have developed a course material that is industry specific and help the students to choose from a variety of courses offered in the arena of multimedia.
Our faculty members are specialized in different areas such as cartoon designing, key frame drawing, animation directing. Our trainers have more than a decade of domain experience in domestic and overseas projects. We maintain close relations with design houses, film production studios, animation firms, media houses to ensure to improve our course curriculum to fulfill industry needs. We invite professional experts from such industries to deliver special lectures on various advanced animation concepts.

ICQ college of engineering is strategically powered with advanced teaching infrastructure to provide a better learning experience and an exposure to global standards. All these systems are equipped with superior animation software suites like Discreet 3D Max, Autodeskís Maya, Adobe, Macromedia, Combustion, Shake and many more. Above all the student-friendly faculty and comprehensive training tools support learners for wholesome animation learning experience.

iCQ College of Visual Engineering
Jyothipadi, Nilambur, Malappuram, Kerala

School of Ayurveda and Panchakarma offers Ayurveda and Panchakarma courses in kerala India.The practical training include Elakizhi, Navara kizhi, Pizhichil, Shirodhara, Udhwarthana, Abhyanga, Shirovasti, Netra vasti , Kadivasti,.traditional kalari marma massage and ayurvedic feet massage, which are very much effective for body rejuvenation. Our training program Panchakarma therapy which includes the treatments like Vamana, Virechana, Vasti, Nasya, Rekta, moksha

Amrita Viswa Vidyapeetham is the youngest among higher educational institutions in India to be conferred the status of a University(under section 3 of UGC Act.) and one of the few to have a multi-campus, multidisciplinary character.The management is commited in creating and sustaining an ambience in the campus that is most conducive to learning, an ambience that will facilitate full blossoming of the innate potential of the students and development of their personality. The University status permits us to design the courses and continuously review and update the curricula so as to bring them in line with the rapid advancements taking place world wide.Moreover, the multi-disciplinary character of the university facilitates synergy among different among different disciplines, enabling each to derive maximum benefit from the expertise of others, and successfully carry forward its programmes in the shortest possible time, with efficiency and economy. All these have made Amrita Viswa Vidyapeetham, earlier know as Amrita Institutions, one of the most sought after universities universities by top ranking students from all parts of the country and abroad.Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham has distinguished itself as a dynamic University well on its way to becoming a world class institution of higher learning in several disciplines.AMRITA has launched many new projects of national importance and scientific relevance.For instance , the Amrita-ISRO Village Resource Centre ( VRC )Project using satellite network aims at benefiting rural India by covering a broad spectrum of activities like tele-education, tele-medicine, tele-agriculture, tele-fisheries, disaster arning and management, rural entrepreneurship and so on.

Main Category
New Listing's

Tell a friend
Tell a friend about our website. Fill out the information below and we will email the recipient a brief note telling them all about 'Kerala Directory'
Your Name:
Friend's Name:
Your Email:
Friend's Email: