Ma’dinu Ssaquafathil Islamiyya, which started in a humble way 8 years back, has now grown into a mass movement with more than 15 educational and other institutes under it.Ma’din also offers help to the poor and down trodden in society, besides acting as a source of help to the hapless victims of natural calamities.Ma’din is the testimony of truth and righteousness in the moral vista of social and spiritual renaissance.The word Ma’din means ‘source of origin’, the source of love, empathy and all virtues.Those who are in miseries and are crying for help, walk in to the soothing shade of Ma’din, as if they have found a new path of survival.It is a source of hope for those who grope in the wildness of sufferings.Ma’din promises them fresh dawns of hopefulness. The compassionate hands of Ma’din reach out to make thousands of orphans and destitute feel safe and secure under its consoling wings.Deaf, dumb, mentally challenged and physically disabled all get the soothing touch of Ma’din.Setting unique examples in the dissemination of education, this movement is ascending the ladder of eventual success. Ma’din is a unique centre of education that provides a distinct blend of worldly and spiritual learning.It offers education facilities from the primary to the postgraduate level.The unending flow of hundreds of thousands of people on to Ma’din campus every month is more than enough to prove the psychological impact Ma’din has made on people.The monthly prayer meeting on the campus is a rare union of hearts to assimilate lessons in spiritual wisdom.
The history of the Diocese of Cochin begins with the arrival of Portuguese missionaries along with the famous explorer, Vasco da Gama, in Calicut. The second Portuguese fleet under Pedro Alavarez Cabral reached Cochin on December 24, 1500. It was Francesco de Albuquerque who built a place of worship which was blessed on November 1, 1503.The first Portuguese Viceroy, Francesco de Almeida, who reached Cochin in 1505 built a church edifice using lime and stone. On the feast of the “Invention of the Holy Cross”, May 3, that year its foundation stone was laid and when completed it was named Santa Cruz. (This church was on the eastern side of the present Children’s Park, Fort Cochin).When the Dutch conquered Cochin in 1663, they destroyed all the Catholic institutions except the Cathedral and the Church of St. Francis. The Cathedral used as an armoury was later destroyed when the British took over in 1795 ( One of its monumental remains, a decorative granite pillar, is kept on the south-eastern corner of the present Basilica ).Bishop Dom Joao Gomes Fereira who became the prelate of Cochin in 1887 started rebuilding the cathedral but only during the reign of his successor, Dom Mateus Oliveira Xavier it could be brought to reality. On November 19, 1905, the new Cathedral was consecrated by Dom Sebastiao Jose Pereira, Bishop of Damao.Considering the earnest request of Rt. Rev. Dr. Joseph Kureethara, who was holding the Crosier of Cochin then, and considering the covetable antiquity, artistic magnificence and historic significance, Pope John Paul II raised the Santa Cruz Cathedral as a Basilica on 19th December, 1984. It was, indeed, a matter of great joy to each and every faithful of the Diocese, especially the Kochinites, irrespective of cast and creed.